Tuesday, June 9, 2009

Car seat safety!

My husband and I attended for car seat safety classes today and we got some information about guidelines for best protecting child passengers.There are many laws about car seat all over in the United States. Here in Colorado the children must be in the car seat for safety. From newborn to 1 year old up to 20 or 30 pounds they must use infant carrier seat rear- facing only. For at least 1 year, 20 to 40+pounds they must use convertible or combination car seats. Use as forward-facing seats up to the maximum weight limit of the harness. For 4 to 8 years, they must use the booster seat along with the lap and shoulder belt. And for older than 8 years, they must use the lap and shoulder seat belt.We should follow the guidelines of Colorado law by keep our children safe. Car crashes are leading cause of death for people ages 3 to 33. Under Colorado's Child Passenger safety law says, infants and children must be properly buckled up when riding in motor vehicles. A driver can be ticketed and fined a minimum of 82$ for each unrestrained or improperly restrained. If anyone needs help installing their car seats they can go to local fire department for help with that.